Morton County, Kansas 1025 Morton St., Elkhart, KS 67950-1116 Phone 1-800-697-4807

Helpful Links

Morton County Appraiser's Office Office Hours: Monday - Friday; 9am - 5pm 1025 Morton, Elkhart, KS 67950 Phone: (620) 697-2106

Taxing Year At A Glance

In the Late Winter/Early Spring

Appraisal Process and Notification of Value


Personal property, oil and gas renditions are mailed to property owners already registered with the County Appraiser's Office.  Personal Property renditions must be returned by March 15th or they will receive a penalty. Anyone owning taxable personal property must file a rendition with the appraiser's office before the March 15th deadline to avoid a penalty.  Oil and gas renditions must be returned by April 1st to avoid a penalty.  All personal property is appraised using published guides and guides issued by the State of Kansas. Valuation notices are mailed to all owners of personal property by May 1st.  (click here for "What Is Personal Property?")

The valuation notice identifies the property, the classification of the property (individual or commercial personal property), the appraised value and the assessed value for the current year.  (Click here for the Classification Chart)

If you feel the classification or appraised value of your personal property is inaccurate, you may appeal on or before May 15th.  (See Appeals Information and Understanding Appeals by clicking on the desired topic.)

At the same time, real estate property values are being calculated. Valuation notices will be mailed on real estate on or before March 1st.

The valuation notice identifies the real estate, the classification of the property, the appraised value and the assessed value for the current year and the previous year as well as instructions on how to appeal the appraisal.  If you feel the classification or appraised value of your real estate is inaccurate, you may appeal within 30 days of the mailing of your valuation notice.  (Click here for "Understanding Property Appraisal")

In The Summer

Assessed Value And The Calculation Of Taxes

The county appraiser certifies the total appraised value of all personal property, oil and gas, and real estate to the county clerk.  Taxing jurisdictions (School districts, cities, county, ect.) hold public hearings to invite participation from citizens concerning their budgets.

Property owners can address their concerns over tax rates and the cost and quality of public service they receive.  Once the budget hearings are complete, each taxing jurisdiction submits it's budget to the county clerk.  This is where the assessed value comes into play. The sum of moneys needed each year by cities, school districts, the county, ect determines what is called the mill levy (tax rate).  This mill levy is applied to each one thousand dollars of your property's assessed value.  The assessed value of your property is, by law, a fixed percentage of the market value determined by the county appraiser.

How To Figure Your Taxes:

1.  Multiply the appraised value by the assessment rate for the classification of your property.

2.  Multiply the assessed value by the mill levy (the tax rate set by groups such as the county, cities, and schools) for your taxing district.

To determine the actual mill levy for your taxing district, call the appraiser's office at 620-697-2106 or e-mail them at the Morton County Appraiser's Office

Example:

$80,000 (Market value of your home)

x 11.5 (Residential assessment rate of 11.5)

= $9,200 Assessed Value

x .120 Mill Levy
(120 mills or $120 per $1,000 of assessed value)

= $1,140 Taxes Due On Your Home

In The Fall & Winter

Tax Bills

Once the county clerk completes the calculation of assessed values and mill levies (tax rates), the county treasurer issues tax bills for payment.

Paying Your Taxes Under Protest

If you believe your tax bill was calculated incorrectly or the property value used by the appraiser is not correct, a payment under protest is appropriate.  However, if you feel your taxes are just to high but your value is ok, a payment under protest will not help. The taxing jurisdictions public hearings held in the summer are the place to voice your concerns.

When you are ready to pay your taxes and wish to pay them under protest, ask your county treasurer for the protest form when you pay your first half.  You will be contacted by the appraiser's office with a date and time for your hearing to discuss the valuation of your property only. Other taxation issues go directly to the State Board of Tax Appeals.

The payment under protest hearing with the appraiser is just like the informal appeal that is held in the spring. Follow the same general guidelines for preparing for this hearing.  (See Understanding the Appeals Process)